Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.


Alexander Betts

Leopold Muller Professor in Refugee and Forced Migration Studies; Director

Louise Bloom

Research Officer, Humanitarian Innovation Project

Dawn Chatty

Professor of Anthropology and Forced Migration and former Director of the Refugee Studies Centre, 2011-2014

Cathryn Costello

Andrew W Mellon Associate Professor of International Human Rights and Refugee Law

Matthew J Gibney

Elizabeth Colson Professor of Politics and Forced Migration; Deputy Director

Will Jones

Departmental Lecturer in Forced Migration

Gil Loescher

Visiting Professor

Kirsten McConnachie

Joyce Pearce Junior Research Fellow

Naohiko Omata

Senior Research Officer, Humanitarian Innovation Project


Barbara Harrell-Bond

Emerita Professor and founding Director of the Refugee Studies Centre, 1982–1996

David Turton

Emeritus Reader and former Director of the Refugee Studies Centre, 1997–2001

Roger Zetter

Emeritus Professor and former Director of the Refugee Studies Centre, 2006–2010


Anneli Chambliss

Centre Administrator

Laurence Medley

Accounts Officer

Andrea Smith

Postgraduate Courses Coordinator

Outreach and Dissemination

Marion Couldrey

Co-Editor, Forced Migration Review

Sharon Ellis

Assistant, Forced Migration Review

Tara-Sienna Hartman

Acting Summer School and Outreach Event Coordinator

Maurice Herson

Co-Editor, Forced Migration Review

Tamsin Kelk

Communications and Information Coordinator

Andonis Marden

Promotion and Finance Assistant, Forced Migration Review

Sarah Rhodes

Subject Consultant, Forced Migration, African and Commonwealth

Joanna Soedring

Senior Library Assistant, Reader Services/Refugee Studies

Nina Elizabeth Weaver

Project Coordinator, Humanitarian Innovation Project

Visiting Fellows

Bruno Codispoti

Visiting Study Fellow

Mariagiulia Giuffré

Visiting Research Fellow

Olaf Kleist

German Research Foundation Research Fellow

Kathryn Marsh

Visiting Research Fellow

Philip Orchard

Visiting Research Fellow

Honorary Associates

Jan Egeland

Secretary-General, Norwegian Refugee Council (NRC)

Guy S Goodwin-Gill

Emeritus Fellow, All Souls College, Oxford

Filippo Grandi

Senior Research Fellow, Issam Fares Institute, University of Beirut

Oxford Associates

Renee Hirschon

Senior Research Fellow, St Peter's College

Nick Van Hear

Senior Researcher and Deputy Director, COMPAS

Research Associates

Jeff Crisp

Research Associate

Jean-François Durieux

Research Associate, RSC and the Graduate Institute, Geneva

Alice Edwards

Senior Legal Coordinator, Division of International Protection, UNHCR

Michelle Foster

Professor and Associate Dean (Research), Melbourne Law School

Jason Hart

Senior Lecturer in International Development, Department of Social and Policy Sciences, University of Bath

Josiah Kaplan


Maryanne Loughry

Associate Director, Jesuit Refugee Service Australia

Jane McAdam

Professor, Faculty of Law, University of New South Wales

James Milner

Associate Professor, Department of Political Science, Carleton University

Alessandro Monsutti

Associate Professor, Anthropology and Sociology of Development, Graduate Institute Geneva

Marie Louise Nørredam

Associate Professor, Research Director, Department of Public Health, University of Copenhagen

Emanuela Paoletti

Associate External Relations Officer, UNHCR

Abbas Shiblak

Director, Palestinian Diaspora and Refugee Center (SHAML)

Nando Sigona

Senior Lecturer and Deputy Director, Institute for Research into Superdiversity, University of Birmingham

Reuven (Ruvi) Ziegler

Lecturer in Law, University of Reading, School of Law

DPhil students

Nora Bardelli

Jennifer Barrett

Navigating the Deputisation of Immigration Enforcement Functions in the UK

Georgia Cole

The Politics of Refugee Cessation in Eritrea and Rwanda

Richard Dolan

Ethnicity, Education and Ethno-Nationalilsm: Constructing and contesting Karen identity on the Thailand/Burma border

Annette Idler

Arrangements of Convenience in Colombia’s Borderlands: An Invisible Threat to Citizen Security?

Nanor Karageozian

Diasporic Return in an Age of Transnationalism: Voluntary Repatriation and Development in the Case of Post- Soviet Armenia

Diletta Lauro

The Evolving Conceptualisation of Rights and Membership of Anti-Deportation Movements in the United Kingdom

Chloe Lewis

Rape as a Weapon of War in the Democratic Republic of the Congo: Uncovering the Elusive Male ‘Victim’

Muireann Meehan Speed

The Evolution of Human Rights-Based Norms in Global Mobility Regimes

Cora Neumann

Examining Indigenous Health Resources among Burmese Refugees and Migrants along the Thai-Burma Border

Julia Pacitto

Exilic Journeys: Towards a Political Understanding of Refugee Journeys to Europe

David Passarelli

Irregular Migrant Children and the Right to Education

Blair Peruniak

States of Knowledge: Political Asylum and the Right to Justification

Angela Pilath

The Role of Epistemic Communities in the Politics of Environmental Migration

Matthew Wilner-Reid

Understanding different models of migration flows of returnee refugees in Protracted Refugee Situations: A comparative case study in Afghanistan


Emily E Arnold Fernandez

Founder and Executive Director, Asylum Access

Chaloka Beyani

Associate Professor of International Law, London School of Economics, and UN Special Rapporteur on the Human Rights of Internally Displaced Persons

Jeff Crisp

Honorary Advisor, Refugees International

Michael Diedring

Secretary General, European Council on Refugees and Exiles

Per Heggenes

Chief Executive, Stichting IKEA Foundation

Stephanie E Hunt

Co-Founder, The Hunter and Stephanie Hunt Institute for Engineering and Humanity

Raza Husain, QC

Immigration and Human Rights Law, Matrix Chambers

Ewen Macleod

Head of the Policy Development and Evaluation Service, UNHCR

Cecilia Malmström

European Commissioner for Trade

Johan K Meyer

Refugee Policy Director, Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Caroline Moorhead OBE

Human Rights Journalist and Biographer

Sara Pantuliano

Director, Humanitarian Policy Group, Overseas Development Institute

Thomas Thomsen

Chief Adviser, Danish Ministry of Foreign Affairs


Seri A P Arumugam

Chairman, Sri Inderajaya Holdings Sdn Bhd

El Hassan bin Talal

Prince of Jordan

Michael Garston


Evan Harris

Former Liberal Democrat MP for Oxford West and Abingdon

Manfred Max-Neef

Former Rector, Universidad Austral de Chile