Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.
Looking down over a busy street in Eastleigh © Cory Rodgers
The Eastleigh district in Nairobi is home to many refugees

The curriculum

Participants begin the week by engaging in a reflection on the conceptualisation of forced migration, considering the political, legal and anthropological framings of displacement. We then turn on the second day to a discussion and debate on the moral foundations of refugee protection. On the third day participants are then given a grounding in international refugee law. From then on, participants will be able to broaden and deepen their knowledge of forced migration through a range of options including, but not limited to: the ethics and politics of humanitarianism, the protection of victims of trafficking under international refugee and human rights law and the politics of denationalisation. As the week concludes, participants draw upon their new understandings of forced migration to participate in an expert panel discussion on future challenges. Our bespoke curriculum comprises of pre-recorded lectures, carefully selected readings, debates, especially designed case-studies and structured discussions. You will have access to all the Online School’s materials for one week before each School starts and for two weeks after it ends to enable you to prepare for, revisit and implement your learning.

The methodology

The Online School aims to foster a culture of the reflective practitioner while also practising and developing skills useful in the workplace. The course takes an active learning approach, requiring participants to prepare for and then engage in the School’s activities.

The teaching

Tutors and Guest Lecturers are drawn both from the Refugee Studies Centre and from outside institutions and organisations. They include research staff, refugees, activists, academics and professionals from several disciplines and practices, including anthropology, politics, law, psychology, international relations and history.

The participants

Around 50 participants from all over the world study together online.

Structure

After watching a set of pre-recorded lectures, and completing the selected readings, students will participate in a series of live and interactive seminars. Seminars will take place daily, usually between 2-4pm BST.

Participants will also be given the opportunity to attend a number of extra-curricular events and more informal social gatherings.

The course will be accessed via the University of Oxford’s virtual learning environment: CANVAS. The platform will utilise Zoom and other software.

While the timetable varies, participants can expect to receive around:

  • Three hours of learning materials to undertake in your own time each day. This will involve viewing lectures, completing readings and preparing the answers to set questions and case studies.
  • Around two hours of live, seminar style teaching each day.
  • The opportunity to attend at least three extra-curricular, social or networking events.

The below chart may assist your planning. A detailed timetable for each week will be provided to participants in advance of each School. Please also visit https://www.timeanddate.com to confirm the time of the live sessions in your area.

Oxford

Paris

Amman / 
Johannesburg

Mumbai

Singapore

New York

2pm - 4pm BST

3pm - 5pm CEST

4pm - 6pm  EEST/SAST

7:30pm - 9:30pm IST

9pm - 11pm 
SGT

9am - 11am 
EDT

 All participants will be provided access to materials and pre-recorded lectures a week before the start of the live sessions.

Language of instruction

All teaching and instructional materials are in English.